Too "clever" for infantry?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by TomHigginbottom, May 8, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, I am new to this and was just wondering? Is there any way that a recruiting officer may stop me going in the infantry if I am apparently too "clever"? I have always wanted to join either the infantry or the Royal Marines and have worked hard to get my GCSE's to make sure nothing stops me getting in and gives me better prospects for when i leave.
    I am currently doing my A levels and was wondering if I get a high score on the BARB test combined with good GCSE grades and not very good A level results or perhaps half decent A level results that they may stop me entering the infantry?

Any opinions will be muchly appreciated, thanks!

2. I'm joining as infantry after studying Mechanical Engineering if that helps. Also, having A-levels, good marks etc, means nothing about being clever. It is just that you suite the education system people have been getting dragged through since the enlightenment. Anyhoo, you will get to try join what you want, but why not get a degree then go for inf Officer?

3. No, if you meet the standards, they can't stop you, but they may suggest another branch, although that's just their opinion.
    Although, MARINE does stand for Muscle A Requirement, Intelligence Not Essential. (I suppose they will need someone who can actually write to do the paperwork though =D)

I'm doing my GCSEs, working hard so I can do A-level, gonna work on that so I can be an officer in the infantry.

4. yeah i get what you mean but ive been told that they may have a 'duty of care'? and where as a degree is concerened there is no chance of that haha, lets just say education is not for me.. or i cant be arsed..

5. Infantry are not 'thick'. Some pretty smart lads in there.