this PAYD thing?

ive lurked here on and off for a while. joined recently and have spent a fair amount of time reading about things ive missed etc since leaving- 1989.
the thing thats shocked me the most is this PAYD thing-how widespread is it? seems a shocking thing to do to a soldier. does this just work for "dinner" or do you need to cough up for breakfast too? an of course the obvious question- if paying for meals have the wages been adjusted accordingly?? im guessing i know the answer to that 1 :(
What happens if your-to be blunt-skint??
Sorry for all the questions but im a little stunned at this 1.

D

1700-10

B_AND_T

LE
Book Reviewer
Journo??

oh your having a laugh eh pal!!!
chepstow, 60 fld sp sqn at waterbeach, 40 AESG at willich. Attached to amphibious sqn for tour of Ulster, Falklands twice-82 and 83
so please dont insult me eh!!!!

in fact if i mentioned i was an 80c and a welder im pretty sure theres someone on here knows me, ive certanly seen plenty names i recognise.

claim to fame as regards RE--i was the 1 on guard the night the screws mess burnt down at gib barracks in 82. was involved in a roundabout kind of way.

D

1700-10

REgards said:
was it you with the bottle of vodka, rag and zippo then?
no not quite :D
lets just say the main instigator was tired from giving me the run around all day and evening. Was probably the last time he picked on a sprog :eek:

D

1700-10

chimera

LE
So what do you do for a living now?

bikerbear666 said:
oh your having a laugh eh pal!!!
chepstow, 60 fld sp sqn at waterbeach, 40 AESG at willich. Attached to amphibious sqn for tour of Ulster, Falklands twice-82 and 83
so please dont insult me eh!!!!

in fact if i mentioned i was an 80c and a welder im pretty sure theres someone on here knows me, ive certanly seen plenty names i recognise.

claim to fame as regards RE--i was the 1 on guard the night the screws mess burnt down at gib barracks in 82. was involved in a roundabout kind of way.

D

1700-10