Third of Recruits Drop Out

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by oldbaldy, Feb 24, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. oldbaldy

oldbaldy LE Moderator Good Egg (charities)
    1. Battlefield Tours

Contimues:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2008/02/24/nrecruits124.xml

2. Only one third. We must have dropped our standards. Only half of my training party finished. Surely the idea is to keep the cream and get rid of the cr*p, so there must be wastage.

C_of_J

3. Rather that 1/3 didn't get to the front line and cause mayhem.

There will always be wastage, young lads join up and then don't like it, or can't hack the lifestyle. It will always be like that.

1/3 seems excessive but.

4. In 1984 when I was an Instructor at Strensall York the Drop out rate was about 30% nothing has changed. Its none news. However the Kings Div alone probably had 10 Platoons in Training at anyone time during my two years there. Dont know the figures now.

5. ugly

ugly LE Moderator

IJLB in 1981 about 1/3 made the grade!

6. So Two thirds of all recruits joining the Infantry, sucessfully complete there 24 week training and make the grade!

Sounds better if we spin it!!

7. But that would make the Army sound like it was doing something right.

8. The army IS doing something right........

Just the backing and support from this Gov that isn't right........

Sorry, Sunday morning at work and ready for a proper rant

9. RP578

RP578 LE Book Reviewer

Of the third that fail CIC, does anyone know if they are encouraged to transfer to Other Arms & Services?

Not everyone is cut out to be an infantryman, but might make a suitable Signalman, Gunner, Cavalryman or Medic etc. It would make sense to direct the non-hackers towards Corps rather than straight out to civvy street.