Thinking of Joining

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by DaveyJones, Jan 20, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

Some quick background info: I'm currently in my 'thinking of joining the Army' stage. I've been wanting to join the armed forces since I was about 14. Between the ages of 14-16, I kept changing my mind every so often from Army to Raf to Navy and back again. Went to college after school (awesome GCSE's) and gained some shite a-levels (grades D,E,E). After college I worked in retail for a year, where i quickly gained a supervisors role, and after leaving that, I find myself in my current job at the grand age of 20 earning 14k. I did apply to be WSOP in the RAF after college, but got rejected on the interview stage as my knowledge wasn't amazing about training, although the other bits on the interview I was great at.

Been thinking of applying for the Army these past two weeks, but before I do I need to decide what I want my number 1 choice to be and the other two in case I can't do that one.

I still need to talk with the missis and the family. although my family already have experience like this as my oldest brother did 8+ years in 1WFR.

I've got a few jobs shortlisted in my head that seem to have interested me and caught my eye, just need other peoples opinion on them and what can I expect etc. Below:

Gunner Observation Post Assistant
    Gunner Special Observer
    Gunner Artillery Command Systems

I'm not sure if I would want to do something that a 'trade' like a role in REME as that would probably bore my ******* mind, although I've never done it before. I do understand that doing a 'trade' role will get me better equipped for the future for when I leave.

Sorry for rambling on, cheers.