Thinking of joining the army, but can't stop worrying about losing heart in a fight.

WoC1066

Clanker
In a few years once I'm done with University, I have decided to join the Royal Armoured Corps. I'm totally willing to risk my life and go all the way if that's what I have to do, but the truth of the matter is I have no experience with combat and high stress situation that require true bravery courage. Sure, in principle I'm willing to go toe-to-toe with the enemy, but I'm worried that I'll sign up for the army, get sent into a combat situation and chicken out under fire.

I know cowardice isn't tolerated in the Military, and was just wondering if it's common for people who have never seen combat to ask themselves if they could take it. If you have ever thought anything along these words, and have any words of comfort or advice, that would be much appreciated.

StBob072

LE
Book Reviewer
In a few years once I'm done with University, I have decided to join the Royal Armoured Corps. I'm totally willing to risk my life and go all the way if that's what I have to do, but the truth of the matter is I have no experience with combat and high stress situation that require true bravery courage. Sure, in principle I'm willing to go toe-to-toe with the enemy, but I'm worried that I'll sign up for the army, get sent into a combat situation and chicken out under fire.

I know cowardice isn't tolerated in the Military, and was just wondering if it's common for people who have never seen combat to ask themselves if they could take it. If you have ever thought anything along these words, and have any words of comfort or advice, that would be much appreciated.
My humble and not-very-qualified opinion.

Most people have these doubts at some stage, but push them aside because there is so much else to be learned. It's good to question yourself, in fact the Army does NOT want gung ho idiots with no self-awareness, who could be a positive danger to themselves and others.