Thinking of Joining but....??

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by parksey, Sep 24, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey All,

I am thinking of joining up with my local TA, hopefully the Royal Welsh 3rd.
    I thought that a few months fitness training wouldn't go a miss before approaching them and having a look around etc.
    In normal life I am an area manager for a company that supplies industrial equipment and IT solutions.

However I am unsure whether a recent operation I have had would render me unsuitable to join, I have had a ligament built in my knee (broke the old one lol) and the surgeon has now told me that it's as good as new!, I know that existing army personnel have had the same op and been returned to full active duty after about 6 months. Would this stop me joining the TA, even if I passed the basic fitness test?. I have no problems with my knee anymore and running cross country, jumping, kneeling or anything else like that does not cause any problems.

2. Knee op? What knee op?

3. LMAO that's what I said to the Surgeon, it was to replace the PCL, as the old one broke :D :D and that's about as much as they explained, I do know that I don't have any screws or anything in their and have full range of movement etc.

4. I think Mongoose was implying that you don't even mention the knee op when applying, since you're fit as you ever were why bother?

5. Best thing to do is go along on a drill night and ask someone. Medical history is part of the process.

6. :D I can be so dull sometimes :D :D
    But won't a 3 inch scar look a bit odd?

7. Isn't that an old Cockney tune?