Thinking of applying, got some questions

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by Mian, Feb 27, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Evening :)

Right, so I'm thinking of joining the army full-time and I have a few questions. Firstly, can I join even if I have a criminal record? To cut a long story short, I'm going to court next week and I might get convicted of assault and carrying an offensive weapon (drunken mistake). I never actually assaulted or stabbed anyone, mind, I was carrying a swiss army knife though. I've never been arrested before, and I'm currently a 2nd year Uni student studying to become an English teacher. Will a criminal record be a problem in my case?

Secondly, how active is army life? I don't want to join, train up, then be sat at home watching TV while I wait for a war to break out. All my mates have disappeared off to uni and never see them, and I'm not particularly close to my family. So I want to be out there, in the thick of it, for as long as possible, and be traveling the world. No need to return home. Which Army career would provide this? Infantry, or combat engineer? (those are the main 2 paths I'm interested in at the moment)

Also, would I be able to be permanently based in foreign bases (e.g iraq)? Or would I always have to return to England after a certain amount of time? How many months of the year could I stay away from home?

And lastly, if I were to serve as basic infantry for a few years, could I then branch off into more specialized routes and get additional training (e.g to become a combat engineer) or do you have to stick with what you choose at the start?

Sorry for the long post but this is a life changing decision and I want to get my facts right before I start a new life

Thanks in advance,