Thinking abuot joining

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by UKmDEVON, Jan 17, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi

Newbie here. I have wanted to join one of the reserve forces for years now but the problem is that in the job I do I could not risk being called up to do 3-6 months plus away as my career would seriously suffer. What are the chances of me being called up for active duty at some far flung county (save for of course some MAJOR conflict). Do some units get called up more often than others?

Your help would be most useful.

2. If you joined up tonight. You would need to complete a series of recriut weekends and a 2 week trade or Combat course -- all good healthy fun!!
    This would take about 15 weeks , give or take.
    As far as being called up, depending on what you do, you will at some point be sent off to a cosy corner of the world. Sad to say, but the Regs depend on the TA now more than ever.

All good fun stuff. Really good for the CV and 'normal job' experience. I would recommend it over anything... well almost!!

Best of luck!

3. I would recommend that you avoid joining the armed forces if you dont want to be mobilised.

4. We get mobilised? Oh, dear god no. That wasn't in the brochure. I'll be having a word with the RSM about this.

5. ha! I know.. I was promised Sailing trips and Adventures in the mountains!!!

Instead... we do get a free trip to the Sunny desert and free 'street wear' (ie combat clothing!!!)..

6. When you join - you will be attested and pledge your allegiance to the queen and to defend her as and when she decides. That tends not to be in the UK as there are not too many dust ups going on here. If you are not up for that - think again.

7. msr

msr LE