Thinking about joining up but...

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by matthewproud, Jun 12, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello everyone I am wanting to join the TA but im unsure about my medical history holding me back. I have been on lansoprazole for about 7 years now, (im now 22) as i have oesophageal reflux. I dont really take my tablets any more as my diet is on top and can go without it. Would this stop my from joining up? I also have slight ibs, but doesnt stop me from doing anything different to someone without it.

Would it be worth cancelling my repeat prescription to prove i dont need the med any more or will i be fine telling them the truth? As im guessing lying will get you found out...?

Cheers

2. I'm no expert mate, but I can tell you that my Cousin was (probably wrongly) diagnosed as being asthmatic as a child. He hasn't had an inhaler or any other treatment for years, but when he applied to join the RAF it was a big problem. The one thing he always dreamed of doing is could possibly be taken away from him because of something he told them at the recruiting office.

If he was starting over again, he wouldn't tell them.

3. Telling the truth is always the best option!

The only person that can really tell you if you are ok to join is the Medical Officer who does your medical.

Go for it!

What have you got to lose?

So what! You get a bit of heartburn!

I seriously doubt that this will prevent you joining the TA.

Every person is taken on an induvidual basis.

4. msr

msr LE

You should declare this at your medical.

The Doc will take the decision for you.

msr