Thinking about joining in Nottingham, any good/bad ones?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Forest_Fan, Jul 20, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys, been reading here for a while and thinking of joining up a TA centre in Nottingham so here is my background.

Joined up to regs when 17(I am 26 in Sep) and really didnt prepare enough for Infantry training and left as DOAR after being offered MD for ruptured cartlidges in ribs. I didnt want to leave MD in case it hindered me in future when I wanted to join again. So my ribs litteraly took years to heal they were in a very bad way and I signed up again when I was 21 and trained like I had never before I needed it so bad!

Anyway I lost my bottle when a date came through for selection and I doubted wether or not I could do it and I never found out. I am a trucker now and money is decent enough, just split with bird of 4 years and need a new purpose to life then just watching the footy on a Saturday and getting pissed out my tree all the time.

I would love to join the Grens again(had a fetish for drill when in cadets as a youngster) but dont know if my body would handle the training, I am currently going gym 3-5 times a week but I had a lot of excess fat to deal with which is just going now so would be a while till I was up to selection standard anyway.

I am thinking anyway now my passion has somewhat swayed so maybe TA would give me the kick *********** I need to get back into it and then I could rejoin if I decided it is what I want.