Thinking about it

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Mass, Jul 4, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright chaps,

well I've been pondering over joining the TA for a bit and I'm still unsure. I was a Regular from '98 to '01 and I'm now a Firefighter, I've been wanting to get back in the "green kit" for a while, but it is quite a step to go back to it. If you get what I mean.

If the unit I potentially join, gets deployed to Afghan, what is the tour length? is it the same as a regular Battalion? or, being TA are they shortend for any reason?

These may sound like bone questions but I've been out of the fold for some time now.

Any help is appreciated. And I'm prepared for the expected shite back! :D

2. Command_doh

Command_doh LE Book Reviewer

I thought it was hard for firemen to get permission to be in the T.A., due to the nature of the job? Same way that Coppers had to get permission from the Chief to sign up. Heard some of the Brigades were very anti - T.A.

3. Its a hard line. T.A. to be honest best suites a student, unemployed or a mon fri 9-5 job. Otherwise its frustrating as hell. working shifts + socail life + T.A. = does not work long time.

working shifts the best I had was every 3rd weekend off. That meant every third weekend I had free from work was spent with the T.A. No room for outside girlfriend at all.

Dont get me wrong T.A. was best experience Ive ever had and dont regret anything. But just be prepared for having no spare time at weekends unless its bank holiday weekend.

If you can balance it out then your a winner in both worlds and I envy you. I'm sure someone on arrse said that somoe one said you can't fit in two uniforms. Its hell of a struggle but if you can do it then credit to you.

4. Command_doh

Command_doh LE Book Reviewer