The uneducated graduate

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Cardinal, Sep 27, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Every year I get my PAMPAS printout which is always wrong. In particular it has a section questioning the soldiers education. I fill in the details of my degree and Dip HE knowing they are going to be ignored, which sure enough they always are.

I asked my unit why my degree isn't recognised and they said it was because only Officers HE qualifications are recognised, the only interest the army has in soldiers education being their EFP exam.

Why? I go and attend a good University and gain a respectable BA in a proper subject which the army refuses to recognise (and a not so good university and gain a Dip HE) whilst an officer who has attended a jumped up Poly' and got a 3rd in sports Science or Pacage design is thought to be better qualified and more intelligent.

Is it right and fair that HE qualifications are only recognised for officers and not soldiers? How can the army seek to justify this?

It seems very much like the old 19th century class system at work! are we really still that bad?

2. msr

msr LE

Didn't PAMPAS go out in 1988?

No wonder your printout in wrong ;)

3. Stupid question time - when you return your UNICOM print out, all filled in, do you give a copy of some official paperwork proving your educational qualifications? (Ona side note: You referred to the admin system as PAMPAS, so just how long have you been filling this in without result? :? )

It'll be ignored for the most part if you haven't, as the Civil servant updating your records only has your word to go on.