The tax fairy has been....

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by jason123, Oct 17, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello to all,

My question to arrsers is this, I'm currently a full time student/bum/government leech and serving with a local unit. However I'm finding myself getting taxed quite alot, I know I'm not earning over the tax threshold to be paying PAYE tax so I am entitled to this back, however it seems that nobody at my unit is quite sure of how I should go about this, some have said it's to do with the military system and I should contact Cardiff, others say HM revenue.

Anybody out there a student and claimed tax back and if so how?

Cheers in advance.

2. I used to just write to the taxman in April each year (same letter different date) and get a cheque back about 6 weeks later. It was just a brief statement explaining the situation and as your only source of income, I guess they check via your NI number and send a cheque when satisfied.

There is a form that my company clerk always wanted me to fill out to stop paying it but I preferred to get the cheque then go on the smash.

3. same sort of story gone full time student after 22 years pension doesn't go over threshold just rang the tax office and they were brilliant sorted in 5 mins and backdated to when i enrolled, result!

4. Fill in a p38 form

5. Thanks for the replies, much appreciated. Kom 42, my money will not be spent going on the smash, I'll spend it sensibly on things like cheap hookers and cocaine.

Dragon, did you have to wait to April to get the money you were taxed back or did it come through with wages?

6. msr

msr LE

I am sure JD150 will be along soon with the right answer ;)

msr

7. Follow this link to HMRC.

HM Revenue & Customs: Students: Working in term time and the holidays