The runs

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Trotsky, Aug 21, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. OK, at the advanced aged of 40 I am considering turning my back on the delights of such places as Barking and Feltham and going to have a break teaching the Iraqis or Afghans or some such how to run their own diversity courses and enforce red routes.

But seriously this will mean deploying, something I have never done before (beyond the odd chelsea match and some of them were real wars, I still remember a chelsea fan coming up to me and mine and saying "you lads need a warrior mate" but thats another story)

The serious part of this is how do you control the runs? Do you take vast quantaties of imodium with you and how much of a tour are you out of action and stuck on the bog (checking for camel spiders). What about other tropical diseases? Beyond vaccinations etc have you got any tips?

I ask because the MPS is savage about sick time and I can actually see my career suffering for going if I am sailing the brown tide all the time

2. Cheap Imodium from tesco - did the job for me. (After having twenty odd craps in 24hrs.) Top tip - get the shiits as quick as you can when you get there - hopefully get it out of the way.
  3. You reckon it only happens once or twice then?
  4. Three bon mots of advice

1. Don't eat anything you can't spell

2. Don't eat anything bigger than your own head

3. Take as much immodium as you can carry

Don't expect to have a 'hard' movement while you're there, it goes with the terrain. But at least you won't be leaking down your legs to the amusement/disgust of your colleagues.
  5. Only had one really bad day of it - what a feckin day though! Then a couple of days after coming back from R'n'R my hoop fell apart once more, but not too bad/too long.