The Rifle Sling

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by GLIDER, Mar 27, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello gents, quite a serious and relevant post from me for once.

I'm currently studying for my DITT course and have been given my 30 minute EDIP lesson subject 'Fitting and removal of the rifle sling'. I know how to fit the sling and operate each of its various components. I do not however, know the correct terminology of each part, or the correct wording to use when giving the lesson. I've just finished the first weekend of the course and the second part is next weekend

I don't want to copy a previous lesson plan from someone else, but viewing one will certainly help me construct my lesson to acheive a highly competant marking. I've searched the Defence Learning Portal, Armynet, and up to page 5 of a Google search and have come up with a blank. So can anyone inform me of where I could possibly find the lesson plan, or in which pamphlet the entire lesson will be in, or websites with relevant pictures, diagrams. As I'm only TA, I would rather have a head start on prepping my lesson and knowing exactly what I need and where to find it, instead of just going to my TAC on Tuesday and quizzing the SAA trainers, if any of them will be in.

I won't have access to any form of military intranet site, so just normal internet sites or the pamphlet I need will be very much appreciated. Also, any tips from anyone will be a big bonus.

Thanks in advance
  2. Pam 5 has all the information you need.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Thank you very much, I shall ask for that when I get in on Tuesday
  4. Go into your TAC early next week, and take the photos yourself, step by step, of a sling being fitted to a rifle. That way you can have it on an OHP with black/white blank slides in between each "Figure" so that theres no distraction to the class.