The ORDER of ST LAZARUS

Medal spotters and geeks.

Can a serving Army Officer wear this medal on his uniform (even mess kit)?

Or would it be classed as walting of the lowest order?

The Military and Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem

To me it would appear that anyone can apply to join and then buy the big shiny medal. I would like to know if it can be worn as I've seen it being done by a serving officer.

I thought this was going to be about folk resurrecting old posts.

FORMER_FYRDMAN

LE
Book Reviewer
Wear it and you'll be treated like a leper.

BuggerAll

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
I'm not an expert but I've read the rules and the short answer is no - not without permission from the Sovereign and having read the rules of why HMG might be minded to grant permission I'm pretty sure that this one falls outside the usual rule for that. Mind you he is not the only one:

thacker%2B1.jpg 172954_10150177966247774_736117773_8229283_2723044_o.jpg
The chap on the left is HE The Baron of Fetternear, MBE GCLJ JP who appears to have seen the need to beef up his MBE with bling. Maybe the Queen gave him the OK. The chap on the right is 'Confrère' William Hackett BLJ again I don't know why he feels the need to add bling to what I think are a perfectly respectable RAF LSGC and Fire Service LSGC.

Perhaps I'm being unfair after all they are not in uniform and maybe they are only wearing them at private functions of the order but personally I think it shown disrespect to the Monarch and the Order of the British Empire, to which the good Baron is a Member, to add unauthorised gongs to it. As her is also a JP you would think that following the rules would be incumbent on him.

I'm not an expert but I've read the rules and the short answer is no - not without permission from the Sovereign and having read the rules of why HMG might be minded to grant permission I'm pretty sure that this one falls outside the usual rule for that. Mind you he is not the only one: