The Isle of Skye - whats not going to piss me off?

Discussion in 'Travel' started by TheIronDuke, Aug 9, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. TheIronDuke

TheIronDuke LE Book Reviewer

I find I must spend a few days near the Isle of Skye, and I wonder whats to do?

Last time I was up that neck of the woods I went to the Glencoe Experience. And discovered that it was not the Campbells who did the MacDonalds. It was the English. It was only the ghost of my dear dead Na-Na, a Chisholm, who prevented me from kicking off and doing their interactive video experience. I have no wish to repeat the experience.

I do not require tourist tat and you can stick your 'Highland Mystery World' OK?

But decent quiet boozers, where they dont start on an honest catle thief from the Borders, or somewhere with a diddly-di band... No displays of ethnic dancing, please. They make me fractious. And anywhere that does fresh scallops. I'm a sucker for a fresh scallop. Straights I am.

Any advice recieved with thanks.
  2. Find a whiskey tour, the rest of your time up there will be a bit hazy
  3. The best thing is that on a Friday night the boozers stay open till the early hours or when everyone has gone home.
    On Saturday the guvnor goes round taking your drink out of your hand at one minute to midnight!
    "it's the Kirk, ken, we canna serve alcohol on the Sabbath!"
  4. Well there's always the wind, even if you don't own a trendy good life and we keep goats now type wind generator, you can fart anytime and no one will ever know.

Of course when the wind drops there are midges, all the midges you could ever hope to eat. if you can train your midges to land on the upper rota blades the whicker homespun wind generator will continue to turn.

Despite appearances the locals are not all inbred, the priesthood brings in regular new blood.