The homeless

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by crabby, May 8, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This has been really getting on my t*ts, and this post might be a little too un-pc but I need to know what other arrsers think.

I've been running a little scheme for the last 3 years - If I go into the town centre three times in a row without being asked for money by either a tramp/homeless or someone who "really needs 20p to get home etc" then I donate between £2 and £5 to a homeless charity. In the last three years this has happened TWICE. Therefore the vast majority of the time I get stopped and asked for money. I have no problem with big issue sellers, they're not included, neither are charity workers.

They can be quite forceful here, there's a footbridge that an almost constant stream of people walk over, they have to walk past this person that stays there all day. I would feel sorry for this person - but they do nothing but. I could still have sympathy, depression and social problems perhaps. But they're forcing a dog to live that existence as well. A dog can not choose whether its owner has money to feed it or provide a warm home.

Is there any way to get these people off the streets? Are they as bad as my predjudices seem to have now made them out to be (I didn't have problems til recently), or am I just a stuck up bastard?
  2. Which city?

Does it have significant drugs problem?
  3. Norwich - No significant problem to best of my knowledge.

I also have suffered the same in Reading, Bristol, London (obviously) and on occasion a smaller town
  4. I have seen a bloke begging then get up walk to the multi-story and drive off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Same bloke, more than once!