The heady smell of a Bedouin tent in the desert

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by mintymcginty, Jun 12, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    I've posted here a few times before. I'm a journalist on the Guardian [yes, say what you will] and was embedded with the Household Cavalry on Telic One. I'm now trying to write something for myself – not for the Guardian – about my time there. I can't quite get a grip on the smell of a Bedouin tent, filled with fifty soldiers and heat, heat, heat. I remember the stale sweat, the feet, the unwashed laundry but does anybody have a better olfactory recollection than I do?
    Also, the little bottles of Tabasco, they weren't with the compo, they were with the MREs right?
    I know, I should have written a diary at the time but being way out of my element then the light discipline got in the way. You live and learn.
    Cheers
    MM

2. Can't help on the smell, but the tabasco sauce comes with US MREs, not British rat packs.

More's the pity. I love that stuff.

3. From my time at Camp Eagle, I reckon a stable of flatulant elephants would be a good approximation.

Good drills on the light discipline by the way :D

4. I was in Camp Eagle too. Of course the light discipline came later.
    As you can imagine I had so many things to get used to, me sleeping with fifty squaddies!, [the snores of a pack o boars, each with a punctured lung] my Thermarest bed, the food, showers, shitters, all of it so memorable. I probably should be glad the smell doesn't immediately come to mind
    MM

5. They smelt like attics that had been sealed for many years, with the slowly drying remains of Great Uncle Bernard slumped in a corner.

6. I did keep a diary and will search it later, but in the meantime I remember:

The smell of Lipton's tea!

The strange smell of the MRE heaters!