The Falkland Islands: any kit recommendations?

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by BUOTC, Jun 1, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all!

Im an Officer Cadet from Bristol UOTC, I'll be part of an expedition to the Islands leaving on July 18th, our intention is to pay respect at as many of the battlefields as possible. Our route will be starting at San Carlos and we'll be tabbing back to Stanley via Goose Green. We've been told the terrain is something like Dartmoor on steroids, so any tips or recommendations for kit to take with us would be really appreciated?

Regards,

Bryn

2. Is this a military expedition , or a civvy one?

3. It will be a military exped, ie we will be in greens/ using plce/ army rations etc, any recommendations or hints will be really useful! one of our instructors has been to the island before and has recommended good boots, but anything else peope can contribute will be taken onboard.

(Mr-D, looking forward to seeing the penguins, will take some pics and see if they do fall over when heli's go overhead!)

4. Been mentioned in other threads but Zinc Oxide tape to put around the areas where you are prone to get blisters, stops the rubbing

5. Are you planning on tabbing the whole way from Port San Carlos to Stanley? while on your tab, please remember that the British Forces who actually carried out the phemonemal tab carried to a man over 100 Pounds+ of kit, in fact several pounds more than this on a whole! so for simply following the route and carrying a small daysack you will be achieving next to nothing in their memories!

6. Why don't you wait til you are actually in the Army and organise an Exped to pay respects from the Military while you are serving?

Most Units who go or who have ever been to the Falklands usually pay their respects in different ways, even today!