The drill instructors cap

Discussion in 'ACF' started by sgtginge, Jun 5, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I'm new to this system so please bear with me if this has already been posted.

I was wondering if any of you know how to "break" peak caps in, to make them more DI-like?

I was also wondering when khaki peak caps are allowed to be worn?

I would much appricate comments.
  2. They are called 'Slashed Peaks', cos they are slashed with a razor and then re-stiched with the new flat fronted face.

Khaki peaked caps???

I think you mean officers SD hats, and Officers wear them when in SD's but not on parade, eg when duty orrificor - if their Regt dress code allows.
  3. ok, so the flat peak is a new piece then? and if so, where do you get these peaks from?

and by khaki caps I mean like those issued to the household cavalry, because I've seen them with cap badges other than the blues and royals or the life guards.
  4. If you own you own dress cap you can slash it yourself.
    Cut peak stitching from chin strap button to one third in across the peak (use razor blade or scapel be careful not to damap the peak) from both sides (do not cut it all the way!)
    PGently push the peak up inside the cloth rim (start from button location and push upwards)
    As a guide I always pushed them up until the edge of the peak that was at the button was up as far as the entire width of the hat band - normally made for a almost vertical peak). Some I know actually scored the peak and then cut the surplus off so you don't see it through the cloth - brave men indeed!
    Then restitch the area along the peaks original line to close the gap using a dark thread (this will be covered by your chinstrap anyway)