The Directorate

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by jog_on, Aug 20, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Decrees from above. Discuss.

Personnel with aptitude to be loaded on to courses - HUMINT, IMINT, LANGUAGES, towards the end of current posting irrespective of individual wishes. Unless this is RUMINT which would surprise me as the individual concerned is a trustworthy type.

Even when said individuals have no desire to do it, have never expressed an interest and are unlikely to pass without being well motivated.

What is the point?

Hasnt this been tried unsuccessfully before?

Moreover, can one refuse to go (without serious repercussions) ? I know the needs of the service come first and the needs ofthe soldier come a close second, but I have been putting the needs of the service first for several years and Im bloody tired of tours. Guaranteed multiple deployments for those that pass. Hmm.
  2. gen question - are you a new arrival on arrse, or an existing member using a new ID for your own protection? i could understand why, given how many people read the site now.

no problem either way, just curious.
  3. Yes its happened before - I was loaded on a long language course straight from A3 - I had no desire to do it - I was one of the few who wanted to sit in a panzer in a German farmer's field doing Combat Int in 7 Coy. However I had the aptitude ('cos I'm a legend me) and like everything in the Army I just got on with it. I know others of my generation who were pushed down the HUMINT game without knowing too much about it and not initially wanting to do it - one in particular did extremely well at it.