The choice is getting smaller

looking at threads on the infantry forum it seems that the single identity infantry is getting closer. We have been asked a question, Rifles or PWRR? Not that long ago, when my first BFT was in boots DMS and 58 webbing (1981), that question would have been

Royal Green Jackets, Light Infantry, Devon & Dorset Regiment, Duke of Edinburghs Royal Regiment, The Glosters, The Queens or the the Royal Hamphire Regiment?

in 25 years 7 regiments have became 2. What does the future hold for infantry regiments?

Which was when?

Suedehead said:
I am 18 and currently studying a BTEC national diploma in music production - at 16 i decided to take this course but in the first year i knew it was not really for me. However, at the same time, I began looking at a career in the army. I had been considering this on and off for about 5 or 6 years, but only seriously from last year. The more look at it though the more i know that a career in the army is for me. So i basically have 2 options - my course finishes in may (im going to finish that as its only a few months until it ends and after spending over a year on it i may as well get the qualification) so finish that and go straight in as a private, or go back and do A levels and apply as an officer (whilst training for those 2 years). However, my preference is probably to join as a private. I know for sure I want to join the infantry. The course I am on at the moment requires me to work with a lot of different technology. Any suggestions on what career to look for in the infantry? Also, I am on the border of Lancashire and Yorkshire. In your opinion, which would be a better regiment to apply to join, Queen's Lancashire regiment or Yorkshire regiment? (Bear in mind that I have little connection to Lancashire and spend 90% of my time in Yorkshire). Sorry for the long post but Im really struggling to choose which route to go down here. Any information would be great!