The best chocolate in the world......an Easter thread.

Goatman

ADC
Book Reviewer
Before we get going - yes I have done a search

I studied this thread : https://www.arrse.co.uk/community/threads/how-shit-is-cadbury-chocolate.195229/

- but it doesn't fit the bill. Mods please feel free to re-allocate as you deem appropriate.

Been chatting chocolate with Canadian pal online, after telling her I'd bought a Bourneville Easter egg for myself. Why ? 'Cos I can.

( We have already addressed the whole -' It's not the same since they sold out ' fol-de-rol , so please don't bother again here.)

1617377882392.png

We got into Cadbury's + Other Choco I Have Et....- she sent me this : Chocolate Shop | Chocolate Store

The convo:

Goats: Looks good- I had to look up gianduja tho.....sounds like praline to me..... I've had perfectly acceptable choco in both France and Germany....Lindt is probably the best known Swiss firm.

CanuckPal : I used to love them ... until I had an entirely traumatic experience with a Christmas Advent calendar from them that involved an earwig

Goats: Lindt? or Purdy's ?.... Lindt's head chocolatier would have to commit ritual suicide if anyone found an insect in a Lindt advent calendar :-D

CP: Lindt! I gleefully opened a door in my calendar early one morning and an Australian earwig crawled out

So, choc-holics......not being much of a true gourmet, I don't really know the lesser Swiss companies, although I 'spose we have to mention mega giant Nestlé at some point.

Had some good stuff from Super-U (ownbrand) back in the day and some definitely moreish German Schokolade from a little shop in Dusseldorf, and the just awful Choco-banane things from the JHQ Spar but beyond that....

What's in your hand-written meticulously kept ' Chocolate Log ' ?

European perspective welcome @fairmaidofperth @harrythebastard @Bodenplatte ?

Last edited:

Goatman

ADC
Book Reviewer
Steer clear of Belgium then - next ?