The Beano - Happy 80th Birthday

Dandy, Beano, Sparky. Bought for me by my gran.

Later graduated onto the Tiger, Valiant, & TV Century 21.

Sadly becoming less popular in the days of tablets and the internet.

Gout Man

LE
Book Reviewer
Memories, The Bash Street Kids, brilliant, Dennis the Menace. They were great, I graduated from those comics to The Victor, now that was a good read and it was that comic that got me thinking about the army.:salut:

Used to share a pint and the odd whisky with one of the editors who retired a few years back, top guy with a very good and subtle sense of humour. Happy Burfday Beano...

GNASH! GNASH!

Memories, The Bash Street Kids, brilliant, Dennis the Menace. They were great, I graduated from those comics to The Victor, now that was a good read and it was that comic that got me thinking about the army.:salut:
Those were in the days when Captain Hurricane (in The Valiant), during one of his 'raging furies', could decant an entire Italian tank crew merely by swinging their tank around by its main gun barrel, whilst shouting racist epithets.

Indeed, those were the days.

Ahh the days of calling people Plug and they knew what you meant.

Those were in the days when Captain Hurricane (in The Valiant), during one of his 'raging furies', could decant an entire Italian tank crew merely by swinging their tank around by its main gun barrel, whilst shouting racist epithets.

Indeed, those were the days.
I inherited a load of Valiant, Victor and Lion comics from my mum's cousin when I was growing up. What still strikes me is the number of articles, they are still genuinely interesting and about random stuff that young boys would find fascinating. How trains work, airliners, artists impressions of how we'd land on the moon (this was a 1963 edition!). Also, various stories of derring-do in WW2.