Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, I'm currently studying Law at uni and my aspiration to become a lawyer (not yet decided on a solicitor or barrister yet) in the ALS.

I don't know anybody already in it, and the information I get from the careers office is vague and unhelpful, so I'd like to know about it in the words of any of you already in it.

I'd like to know, more specifically of the entrance requirements and the process for getting in, and what a day-to-day routine is like.

What is the likely hood of getting work experience with the ALS too?

Any respnonse to this would be really appreciated, thanks in anticipation :)

All I know is that I can't get sponsorship from the Army to do this degree, which is why I'm abit cold-turkey with the process... no-one tells me anything! ;)
  2. You understand that this is the Medical Bit ?

Maybe somebody here has had dealings with ALS....come on you lot ! lets be Avin a legal type volunteer to help the young chap !
  3. And there was me thinking he was talking about Advanced Life Support.....

4. ViroBono

ViroBono LE Moderator

Not quite correct; this forum is for professionally qualified, RAMC & QARANC. The 'professionally qualified' bit includes lawyers.
  5. I know how he feels. I am also studying for a law degree while serving. I enquired about maximum age for entry (the maximum being 55 for a lot of PQOs) and was unhelpfully told the maximum for a normal Sandhurst entrant. I was then referred to the website which contained no helpful information at all. I suggest you go to your nearest Army Careers Office with a list of questions and don't leave until you've got the answers. It's what I'll be doing next time I'm in UK.