Thatcher threatened nuclear strike

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Ord_Sgt, Nov 23, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ord_Sgt

Ord_Sgt RIP

In the Sydney morning Herald today: http://www.smh.com.au/news/world/thatcher-threatened-nuclear-strike-says-book/2005/11/22/1132421669266.html

Now I’m no expert on Exocet but is there such a code that could be used to deactivate the missiles or is this guy just waffling to sell his book?

Amazing how bitter the frogs are about our successes over the years though, that they think building the tunnel and paying for it is some kind of victory. Duh. :oops:

edited to include link

2. The Idiots dont realise that if a WW2 scenario happened again we would just blow it to sh!t

3. Or would we? DEN DEN DEEEEEEEERRRRRRR

4. Bearing in mind that Sir John Nott is on record as saying: 'they [the French] helped us with technical details of the Exocet, which I think we probably had already' (SCSI Occasional No. 46, June 2002), I'm a little sceptical as to whether Mitterand was telling the truth...

The RN had Exocets aboard Leander class frigates, and, IIRC, the Type 22 had them as well. Also, the idea that all four Polaris boats were in the South Atlantic is laughable (the SSNs, of course, didn't have any means of launching an nuclear attack on Argentina). Add to this the fact that one of the UK's lines of operation was to garner as much diplomatic support as possible at the UN (which turning Buenos Aries into glass might have made a tadge awkward), and you begin to realise that it was probably no coincidence that Mitterand was seeing a therapist.