Thanks for the Squaddie reviews and some rambles on writing

Discussion in 'The Book Club' started by Steven_McLaughlin, Sep 27, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. To all of the blokes who’ve posted reviews about Squaddie I just want to say a big thank you for taking the time and for your kind and supportive comments; as a first time writer I can’t begin to tell you how much your praise means to me. I place particular emphasis and attach great importance to the views of the military community, because in my heart you represent my core constituency, and I hope that the words I have written will resonate and chime with your own experiences of being in uniform.

For me, writing Squaddie was all about chronicling the lifestyle and adventures of a typical ‘Infantry bod’, albeit from a decidedly untypical background. I wanted to portray a side of military life that had never really been touched on before (or so it seemed to me), and in a level of forensic detail that was new and unfamiliar to the general reader. So I focussed the core of the narrative on the journey through basic training and the CIC, the everyday experiences of the Private soldier in his peacetime UK battalion, and then the emotional rollercoaster and personal introspections that we’ve all faced on operational tours; those times when we at first face that fear and begin to wonder ‘What if it’s me that doesn’t come back and why am I really here…’