Ten Million Workers to Pay More Pension Contributions

MrBane

LE
Kit Reviewer
Reviews Editor
Not really. I'd suggest this is the government finally getting its act together to put in place measures that will look after people to some degree into retirement as many don't bother their arrse to so it themselves.

An expectation of a government pension in this modern climate is not a sensible way to prepare for old age.

No not really. This money will come back to you when you retire. Having said that I'm not an expert on current pension schemes.

I was fortunate to be in a local government scheme for twenty years and when ill health forced me to leave my job early, I discovered that having paid into a pension scheme was one of the great decisions of my life and there weren't many of them I can tell you.

From what I can make out these days, the schemes on offer now aren't a patch on the older final salary schemes. That said, any money coming in during your later years of life will, I'm sure, be very welcome.

Many of my friends around my age didn't make any provision for a pension and as they approach retirement now, they are facing a retirement on just their OAP pension or just on benefits because they didn't pay into any pension NI contributions at all.

Last edited:
6% of my salary goes in to a local authority pension scheme, which my employer matches. Decent.

My old man done it for years as well and it was a big plus later in his life.

MrBane

LE
Kit Reviewer
Reviews Editor
Yep. An ageing population meant only one thing - higher taxes for everyone.

While taxes will still go up, at least they can't use the pension excuse as much now - because the vast majority of people now enrolled in a workplace pension were probably going to end up on government pensions or as is more likely for the you get generations now coming in to work, no pension.