Tax on Telic

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by danielsan, Jun 20, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a student currently in TA, despite being my main income my TA tax code is BR ( Basic Rate ) and have justed volunteered for compulsory mobilisation on Telic 9.

1. How can my tax code for normal earnings be corrected - no-one in my unit seems to know and no-one can tell them?

2. Will I automatically get an appropriate tax code once mobilisation begins?

Any help would be most - um - helpful.
  2. Don't know about Telic tax, but seeing as you are actively avoiding employment, you should have no trouble claiming back what the government take off you.
  3. You can claim it back, contact Center one tax office in East Kilbride Jockland with your national insurance number and they will put you through to your assigned tax officer.
  4. Actively avoiding employment - you're having a laugh arent you :D ! Last year I fitted in Six months full time study, six months placement on an NHS ward (unpaid) and 115 days with my unit, plus part-time work as an agency LGV driver and even to my shame 2 weeks @ McDonalds over Christmas.
    Since deciding to do TA only I have come up against this hurdle of amending my tax code. Tax office say fill in P46. RHQ say - not appropriate, and dont have any anyway.
  5. With that kind of employment background, I would be keeping all my payslips, completing an annual tax return and waiting for the rebate to roll in! The basic rate of tax imposed on you probably means that you are overpaying anyway - and the Revenue won't tell you because it's not their job....

If you have your last payslip, work out what percentage of the gross pay was paid out on income tax and tell us here!