Tattoos

Good evening. I am a potential officer, with my pass from RCB Briefing. During my interview, my group leader asked me a question, regarding tattoos, along the lines of "Are you aware the Army has a policy on Tattoos" i answered "Yes" , He then asked "does that concern you at all" i answered "no". However, call this the folly of youth, but i am considering a tattoo, before, or during university which i start in September. I would appreciate if anyone would be able to outline the Army's policy on tattoos, whether they are a no go all together, or is it the actual image or location of the tattoo??

Cheers,

JayGee

They have to be non-visible on your head or neck, not offensive or obscene nor excessive in size or number.

I have heard mention that they are also not to be done during training, to avoid your getting it infected and your being useless for several weeks. This will of course require confirmation, but I'm sure someone here will know.

Cheers, meant to add,that at the time of my briefing, didnt have or want one, but no kind of do! A crucifix of some description wouldnt be considered offensive if placed discretly?

When the regulation was described to me 'obscene' meant rude words, Swasticas, some-one flipping the bird etc.

Sprjim, I have a tattoo on my forearm that I have felt might make me look bad. I was told however that as it is not offensive it's not strictly a problem as the regulations only bar head/face and neck tattoos. Do you find that those with forearm tattoos are looked down upon?

jaygee said:
Cheers, meant to add,that at the time of my briefing, didnt have or want one, but no kind of do! A crucifix of some description wouldnt be considered offensive if placed discretly?
Are you sure you wouldn't be happier in minor league football?

Ha, nope, just a christian, thats sick of having his crucifix stolen, 3 times in the past 18 months. And it was just something i fancied.