TASO with medical cadetship?

Discussion in 'OTC' started by UKUSUK, Feb 3, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a 23 year old grad. about to embark upon a 5 (maybe 6) year undergraduate medicine course in September, and am playing on applying for a medical cadetship for the last 3 years. I've been assured by a recruiter that the program will be reestablished by then.

For the first two (possibly 3) years I'd like to get involved somehow. I plan on applying for the bursary, and am also looking at OTC and TA. OTC is appealing due to social aspects and scheduling concerns, but as a 23 year old I may be a little old. TA is more appealing as there are more options, and I could go for 4 Para or 21 SAS if I am so inclined (and capable).

I will probably be joining the TA (hopefully 4 Para) in the next few months (4-5 months before I would start uni. and join OTC).

My questions:

1. Would 23 be a little old to do OTC, or are there a lot of more mature participants?

2. Could one do both TA and OTC? This is the TASO scheme, correct? How would I go about setting this up while already in TA? How big of a commitment would this be? Would you attend drill nights/weekends for both TA and OTC?

3. If I was awarded a cadetship, could I still do TA/OTC/TASO?

Thank you for your help. Sorry for the long winded post.

2. If things haven-t changed in the last couple of years:

1. 23 is fine to be at the OTC. It is your friends and peers there who count.
    2. With the COs agreement he could fund your commitment to both, but you would need to belong to one or other organisation, not both. There would also need to be evidence of commitment and capability.
    3. If you were awarded a cadetship after 3 years you would be ideally placed to become a Pl Comd in the OTC or hold the rank (2Lt) with some other function.