Target Port Stanley

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by tomahawk6, Mar 20, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

• Like Like x 10
  1. cheers mate, i like it.

• Like Like x 2
  2. FWIW: the Argentine (government) is obsessed. I find myself presently in a target rich environment for Argentine-baiting, Sport of Britons. They have random official government billboards up everywhere across the country with a blue background and the islands' landmass in white with the tagline below simply stating "Islas Malvinas". Despite the wanton graffiti which adorns walls everywhere I've yet to see a 'popular' comment amongst it all.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Agreed, it's a cracking thread, and reydelcastillo's input as an Argentine soldier/airman on the ground makes it much more interesting.

4. I'm no expert on this (clearly) however seeing the damage caused by the bombs,they were spread across the runway on a diagonal line.Would it not be better to go along the length of the runway to create more damage?

5. If you did and were off only slightly you'd miss with all the bombs. If you go across at an acute angle there's probably a higher chance that at least one or some will actually hit.

• Like Like x 7
  6. Guns

Guns LE Moderator Book Reviewer
    1. The Royal Navy

Just as well they didn't quickly fill them in so that they could continue flying.

• Like Like x 3
  7. I thought it was an enjoyable and very informative documentary. Hats off to all involved.
    Looking at the associated thread on PPRuNe, it is almost like stepping back in time on ARRSE. Grown up discussion, occasionally adversarial, but with none of the crayoning - and we take the piss out of the RAF?! :)

8. Hmmm..... All that effort for one bomb crater on the runway and that was repaired within 24 hours.