Taking up airgun hunting

Discussion in 'Shooting, Hunting and Fishing' started by studentfeckwit, Apr 10, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I live fairly close (cycling distance) to a few sizeable farms and I'd like to offer my services to them as a pest controller. Trouble is, I've zero experience of hunting - but I do have a lovely Weihrauch HW57 and the ability to shoot straight with it (no scope, yet).

Before I go out, make a tit of myself and enrage the farmers, what sort of things should I be looking to do?

SFW

2. Wah aside, first tip would be, dont go hunting with an air rifle, you cannot be sure of a kill, and as such you would just be injuring whatever you shoot, so therefore, controlling nothing.

I dont think there is an air rifle capable of taking a Rabbit for example, cleanly, with a guaranteed kill when hit.
    Pidgeons, maybe, if you hit them right, but honestly, a .22 rimfire or better, is the only none large bore weapon capable of doing the old pest control job.

Plus, farmers tend to have shotguns anyway, so a pointless task.

3. 1. BASC insurance
    2.Find a local shoot and go see the gaekeeper, offering to join the beating team. This may lead to an introduction to a famer or an offer from the keeper to shoot the rats etc around his pens.
    3.Visit the farmers dressed smartly and be patient when they are rude; you probably will always come at the wrong time as they are always busy!
    4.See if there are any air rifle shooting clubs (avoid 'Field Target' clubs as they are all to a man d*cks)

Good luck

4. Congratulations- 3 paragraphs without a single accurate piece of information contained within them! More rabbits are killed with an airrifle than any other method. Damn I think you've just wah'd me!

5. You're talking shiite

6. Barret is the way forward :)

7. I'll see your Barret and raise you a JP233 :D