TA Whilst student

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Secret-Squirrel, Jan 31, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guys,

I am currently a 1st year University student, having done a SSLC, and got an Army Bursary. In order to get my bursary, I either have to join OTC or TA. I am currently in the OTC, however I am finding it rather gash as I sit round instructing really menial stuff, or worse, doing nothing at all, we don't have any decent exercises, so on and so forth... basically I am finding it a waste of my time.

Now I know that I can swap over to the TA without too much of a drama, however, does anyone know what the chances of call up are, whilst a student, obviously there is a higher call up risk than OTC by some margin!

Whilst I am not unwilling to deploy, I would not exactly be delighted if I got called up and then have to resit a year at uni due to being called up 3 weeks before exams, or that sort of thing. (Is it possible f.i. to request that a deployment be delayed by a month or two in these sorts of circumstances?)

And finally, knowing relativley little of what the TA have been doing on TELIC and so on, what typically might a deployed TA Inf subbie be up to in Iraq? 18 hours a day watchkeeping or something? :roll:

Many thanks

2. As a student in full time education in the TA, you have an automatic right to have any mobilisation deferred or cancelled.

As an infantry subbie, if you go out with your own unit you could be doing an infantry subbies job - leading your troops on the ground - or you could be stagging on the front gate of Shaibah. Depends a lot on how your troops perform. Currently, the ARF is being provided by a TA Inf company, so there are some warry roles out there!

If you go under an individual mobilisation, you're far more likely to be watchkeeping.
  3. Jesus man, think what you're saying.