TA whilst at Uni?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by PeterH93, Nov 22, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright Lads,

I'm Peter and I'm currently studying at Leeds Met uni, whilst I was 16/17 I aspired to be a Royal Marine, however, my parents were against the thought of signing the forms for me.
    Now that I am 18, I can legally sign the forms myself in order to join, however, as I am only doing an HND course I will be back in Newcastle in 18 months time. Therefore, I do not see why there is any point in me joining the Marines until after I finish university as I will be 3/4 of my way through training before leaving.

Instead I am looking at joining a TA unit for the 18 months that I have left, living near Carlton Barracks I seem to recall seeing Royal Signals & Royal Artillery both being based here. I also know there is 4 YORKS located near me aswell, basically I am writing to ask what would people recommend that I did, join the RMR and do 18 month training, or spend 18 months with either of the Squadrons that I've mentioned?
  2. RMR for 18 months would be pointless - you'd barely manage to get your lid in that amount of time and transfers to regular RM are becoming increasingly less frequent I understand. Best not to run that risk, get some experience in the TA if that's what you really wanted to do with that time, then join RM proper when you're done.
  3. Any recommendation on TA unit out of the three that I mentioned?
    4 YORKS
    49 Signal Squadron
    269 Royal Artillery
  4. 49 Signal Sqn is now part of 38 Signals regiment, they still parade at Carlton Barracks in Leeds on a tuesday night between 1930 and 2130.

They currently have no restrictions on the amount of training days you can do, nip round tonight or give them a bell.
  5. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator