TA too much at University?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Bex22, Dec 10, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone and thanks in advance for any advice.

I am in my second year of Uni and have recently decided that I want to join the Army after I have graduated. I have been in touch with my local AFCO and asked about joining the UOTC however, because I already midway through my 2nd year I am too late to join.
    The officer I spoke to suggested joining the TA instead but said she thought it might be too much with my 3rd year, dissertation and my part-time job. I wouldn't want my degree to suffer.
    Has anyone been in a similar situation and did they find it too much to take on all at once? I am basically just looking for any advice around this topic...

Thank you

Bex

2. I'm a 2nd year student at university, I joined the TA in my second year of college. I have managed to keep my commitments high with the TA and that's despite my workload and my other part time job. The basic training can be a bit of a pain to complete as it takes up a lot of time, it can also be problematic with your part time job if you work weekends. However I dont think it will be too much of a problem.

3. Bex if you are planning on joining the Army your OTC will still allow you to join. I assume you are studying in England and on a 3 year course?

4. Bex,
    I don't see that it should be too much for you too handle. Whilst in my final year I had 2 jobs and played for 2 rugby teams. It was tough to juggle work, training and studying but it is do-able.
    It's only 1 night a week and a weekend a month after all.

5. Bex, this gets covered alot (search function and even the "similar threads" bit beneath the posts are a good help, but my 2 penneth worth: