TA soldier or Commission?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by OCS001, Feb 7, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am in my second year of university and I am aiming to go to RMAS as a reg in either September 2011 or January 2012. I have passed AOSB Briefing with a cat 1 and looking to take main board in the summer.

I tried to get into the UOTC at the start of this year but was told because of recent budget cuts the local unit could not take me (as I only had two years left on my course). I told my recruiting officer this and he recommends I join the TA for the 18 months until I graduate.

I have been told to try for a commission in the TA. However I am unsure as to whether this will be a good idea or not.

I was told at the local careers office that I would only have to do briefing and main board once, but the guy did not seem to confident when answering this question. Does anyone know whether he is right or wrong?

The advice I am looking to get from anyone on here is whether they think I should join the TA as just a soldier before going to RMAS (as a regular after finishing my degree) or whether I should go for the commission in the TA?

Will there also be any problems with me going to Sandhurst as a regular with the TA unit? For instance they may want me to show more commitment?

I know the benefits of joining the TA but I am unsure as to whether the valuable resources will be better off with someone staying in the TA for the long run?

Obviously this all depends on me passing main board, but I am just hoping for any guidance anyone can give me.

Thanks in advance.

-OCS-

2. Considering the numbers that don't stay for 18 months then why not?