TA - Soldier in BTT wanting to be an officer

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Moak, Feb 7, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey all,

Im currently going through BTT for a good unit that I really fit into. But I really want to join as an officer, I feel I have te core skills required and really want to further those skills with the training on offer. The unit I'm in doesn't put their soldiers up for sand hurst until they've served. I can appreciate that, a) they want to see commitment, and B) I think everyone including me would benefit from the experience. I had a concern however that I'm only educated to GCSE level, and I'm 29 in September. This would only give me one chance through my unit to go up for sand hurst, and if I required further education I don't have the time while in my unit to achieve this. - on that note I also read on an army officer brochure that only GCSE was required. Bonus points include I'm a professional within IT and could look to join LIAG who have all their members go through sand hurst but I believe the training is not as indepth as other forms of entry such as direct entry.

So essentially I'm looking for suggestions, do I chance it with my unit, complete BTT and try via direct entry or go through the professional skills route?

I also have to appologies for the above poor grammar as I'm on a train using an iPhone... It's dire!

Many thanks in advance

2. Being a Non-commissioned rank in 3MI's not so bad and if you fit in, you don't fit in! Facetiousness aside; you feel you have "the core skills required" to be comissioned but does anyone else?