TA Sapper Training

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by Mariolario, Dec 21, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Am thinking of joining a TA Engr unit,wont have to do basic trg as i am ex inf . Can anyone tell me what combat Engineer trg consists of,ie how many weekends and what sort of things do you cover .Do you do B3 first and then B2 as a L/CPL,CPL???
  2. ugly

ugly LE Moderator

Unless you have an Asslt Pioneers qual you would have to take B3 cbt eng at some point regardless of rank! Least thats what they told me, even my B1 reg asslt pnr only crossed over to B3 cbt eng. They wouldnt give me a higher as it was an eod unit. They didnt want cbt engrs by trade but all have to have some or at least thats the excuse they gave me!
  3. Yes i realize i,llhave to do my B3 , Am just wondering what it will consist of, how many weekends and whatdo you get taught????
  4. Try the TA forum.
  5. Basic field engineering 1 & 2
    Basic water supply - sedimentation and clarification
    Basic watermanship - Non powered craft
    Basic demolitions - charge theory, identification of explosives and ancils and placement.
    Equipment bridging - Medium and heavy overbridges.
    Roads - Class 30 and 70 trackway.

These modules each take a weekend, so 7 weekends spread over the year depending on how often they are run.

RETA also run a yearly courses camp at Weymouth to bring you up to speed on quals.

Give me a shout if you want any more info.
  6. Much appreciated Axeman , Thans for that.
  7. It is a bit of a drama in the TA although a bit more relaxed than that of the regular bretheren.

The modules are divided into the different tradestreams, Combat, MT, Plant, C3S (or signals to all else), Amphibious and EOD., plus any I neglected.