TA Pay

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by 4Para, Apr 4, 2003.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. 'ello,

Just wondering how TA pay works out. What is considered to be a 'full day'? (How many hours etc) and what is half a day? I didn't even know the TA guys got paid to be honest until they told me when I went to join earlier in the week. Show's how much I know  ???
  2. Ventress

Ventress LE Moderator

Same sort of scales, I'm a new punter with the TA and it seems to be the same as I got as a regular!
  3. I'm new to the armed forces all across the board, so I don't even know what that is.
  4. OldSnowy

OldSnowy LE Moderator Book Reviewer

Where do I start?

Nominally, we STABs get paid the same as the Regs.

We do not get x-factor, which is a good few percentagepoints, nor do we get the same 'experience' increments - i.e. there is no 9-years-plus pay for an experienced soldier.

For a drill night we get a 1/4 day's pay, plus travel (up to 30 miles, normally) at PTR (Public transport rates).  IF you have to miss a meal, on a drill night you can claim a TEA (t?? Expenses Allowance) of a couple of quid - but that is pretty tightly controlled as a rule.

For a weekend, from 2000 Fri to 1700 Sun we get 2 1/2 days pay.

A 'full day' is anything between 8 and 24 hours - it's all just 1 day's pay.
  5. I always thought "TEA" on a paysheet just stood for tea, as in, your evening meal?

Oh, and dont forget your annual bounty, which peaks at £1250 after 5 years service (Starts at £450).

That reminds me, has anyone go theirs yet? Cos I haven't.

Bloody Glasgow!!!   :mad:
  6. i think it's up to £1360 for this year.
  7. OldSnowy

OldSnowy LE Moderator Book Reviewer

For all real saddos...