TA Medic Roles

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by yorkie_999uk, May 15, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,
    been a guest for sometime now and finally registered.

I'm looking to join my local infantry unit and was wondering what roles could be open to me.

Bit of info- I'm a state registered Paramedic with the Ambulance service, but wasn't initially looking at a medic role. (Was wanting more along the lines of soldier). I've kinda come full circle again and considering the medic role.
    What i was wondering though, would i be automatically 'pigeon-holed' as a medic and stuck in some hospital, or would i be able to take a more active role in a patrol etc.
    I'm currently sitting with the form in front of me glaring at me 'JOB PREFERANCE and REGIMENT'.

Like i say, i'd put medic-infantry but i'm after a second opinion.
    The fella at my TAC said i wouldn't automatically be stuck in some rear echelon position but i wasn't sure if it was just saying what i wanted to hear.

Sorry for the rant and thanks in advance for any info

Yorkie

2. The TA don't have paramedics, only CMT's - Combat Medical Technicians.

You could join as a CMT, and join either a medical unit or an infantry unit as you suggest. The army are shying away from deploying TA CMT's, but that wouldn't be a problem for you as you remain clinically current through your civilian job. I'm sure an infantry unit would welcome your skills and experience.