TA Intelligence Corps interview

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by mcjones, Oct 26, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello, advice please. I've applied to join the Intelligence Corps and my local TA unit is in Newport (South Wales). I have a 'visit the unit and have a chat' meeting on November 10. Any advice on what I'm likely to expect?

Because I'm 39, I'm unable to join as an officer I'm concerned I might be performing tasks which might be, erm, how do I say it, a little bit basic for my education, experience etc and I'll end up getting bored.

My initial plan was to transfer to media ops after 12 months, as this is this is where my experience lies. Again, I've been advised that if I start without rank, I'll be performing tasks I could do with my eyes closed.

Can anyone advise on the reality?

2. I think I can advise that the person interviewing you on November 10th has already read this post and you're fcked.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. The purpose of the initial "meet and greet" is to give you an overview of what the unit does and is by no means a "pass or fail" kind of affair. This will then give you a better idea of what to expect in terms of comitment, training and role within the Army as a whole.

A word of warning though, I would strongly suggest you don't infer (as per your post) that anything below comissioned officer rank would be "below your intellectual capabilities".

Edited to add... "just re-read this and wanted to say...oh cr@p is this a wah?"
  4. Hard to answer your question about whether you will be bored or not as we dont know what your previous experience and qualifications etc are. You don't say if you have any previous military service- but I presume not.