Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by sendthreenfourpenc, Jan 26, 2002.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. What are the thoughts on these TA chaps who've decided that they only joined to defend dear old blighty from the Hun (or similar) and don't now wish to go to Afghanistan?
  2. woopert

woopert LE Moderator

See associated threads on TA forum regarding loss of pay and that will answer your question.
  3. well as a TA soldier I'm disgusted by them decieding this course of action. I hope the INT corps dispenses with their services quickly. I wonder if they could be done for fraud? :mad:
  4. I think most of us Reg and TA could be done for fraud at some time or another and in the case of the Cav and AAC at both sometime and another, judging by their comments!!
  5. I only popped in from the to see if anyone's here...of course you don't need to leave the compfort of your sofa to enter this int cell...
  6. Much as it grieves this ex-Regular to defend the TA, in this case, I think 3 MI Bn are the victims of preemptive spin, perhaps from a political adviser to Saint Geoffrey Hoon.

From sources close to the Bn, it appears that 140 were in fact mobilised, at short notice, but that 60 or so were informed that they would not be required. A cynical man might suspect an excess of enthusiasm, followed shortly afterwards by a cry from DIS or whoever "My God, what are we going to do with 140 of them?".

My sources know of no refusals - in fact, the contrary, a number of Volunteers made very expensive arrangements to cover their absence on a comparative pittance and were then, inside a week, in the position of going back to empoyers or clients and saying "Sorry, wrong, after all".
  7. If this is the case I completly withdraw my comments.