TA COs attending weekend Regt / Unit exercises

On weekend Regt / Unit exercises my CO...

• ...is TA and usually attends

Votes: 26 36.6%
  • ...is TA and does NOT usually attend

Votes: 4 5.6%
  • ...is Reg and usually attends

Votes: 31 43.7%
  • ...is Reg and does NOT usually attend

Votes: 10 14.1%

• Total voters
Its their unit... whether they attend is up to them. Ours is always on Regt weekends, but not Sqn weekends, which is good, as part of the attraction of Sqn weekends is that the RHQ hoi polloi are not there...

Perhaps I am demonstrating my ignorance here, but how can the Regt/Bn be fully exercised if the command element (including the Commanding Officer) is not present in full?

I think CO's (regardless of TA/Reg) should be present but got differing responses when I raised it on our latest weekend which surprised me, hence the poll.

(and yes I've realised the poll could have been designed better - it's my first time! Be gentle...)

If I understand the scope of the reserves review correctly, this may raise some interesting questions for the future. As I see it, one of the options for the TA is to make it more like the US National Guard, in terms of getting more and better training and other resources but probably with lower overal numbers. The pay off for this that attendance at training events will be compulsory for all ranks, with failure to attend being treated the same as a regular soldier going AWOL. I'd be interested to hear thoughts from the serving TA.