TA commission

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Panoptes, May 14, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This is probably been done to death on these forums, but having used the less than awesome search function on these boards for over 15 mins trying to find a thread dedicated to this i could only find drib and drabs.

I'm a student, having just passed Recruit Selection (TA) last Sunday, I am waiting to be attested this drill night.

I'm also doing summer challenge during the summer to become a fully trained soldier, after which I hope to go to uni and train as an officer.

Does the Summer challenge "thing" count towards a commission and how quickly could I be commissioned after finishing summer challenge.

Also what is the process of a TA commission.

-PAN

2. msr

msr LE

Ask your recruiting staff for an interview with your Company / Squadron / Battery Commander.

You should be able to put quite a dent in your Officer training on Summer Challenge.

msr

3. Once you are a fully trained soldier the process goes like this:

Mod 2 -

Taught either over 10 weekends or a 2 week residential course. Orders and estimates + a few other things.

Mod 3 -

A 9 day battlecamp putting into practice what you did on Mod 2.

Mod 4 -

3 weeks at Sandhurst after which you are given a pip and put on probation.

Mods 2 and 3 can be done over the summer if you have time. Mod 4 only runs three times a year, once at Easter and twice in Summer.

At some point during all this you have to pass two lots of TCB down at Westbury.

Don't fall into the trap of thinking that just because you are going to uni you should go and be an Officer. Opportunities in the TA seem to be far less at Officer level, and many of the people I know who are at uni have chosen to stay in the ranks as it gives them far more options.