TA CMT Hopeful.

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by Pmoor, Feb 3, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello there.

I am hoping to join the TA and train to be a CMT. I'm waiting for the informational DVD to be delivered and I haven't spoken to anybody relevant at a recruiting office yet (calling again during office hours on Monday) so I was just wondering if anybody on here with a spare minute or two could give me a bit of advice please.

I have no previous medical experience, but I am a former Infantryman. Been a Civilian for five long and meaningless years. Would I be eligible to join or do they really want NHS staff or other people who already have experience or knowledge?

What are the deployment prospects like and is there a rough timeline on how long it usually takes for somebody to get themselves up to the required standard and qualification to be deployed to Iraq, Afghanistan or elsewhere?

Sorry for such a long post.

thank you for your time.

Pmoor.

2. I have a slightly tainted view of the CMT trade after my recent treatment. If you really want to do what your recruiter said CMTs do, then join an other Corps, and THEN go as an RMA/RCMT.

CMT's that are not Paramedics/Nurses are not allowed to do anything really. You will end up being a GD bod in a Med unit, and not running around fixing people like you want to.

I don't mean to put a downer on it for you, but the TA CMT trade is obsolete now. DGAMS and the army in general are afraid to use them.

Why not go inf, then after CIC go to Keogh?

T C

3. I've just been reading your comments regarding the changes mate. that is very disappointing for me. I have no intention of rejoining the Infantry. I will look into what you said about joining another Corps and then going RCMT/RMA, and maybe that would be useful and make me more of an asset.