TA Centre Permanent Staff Options?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by StevieH, Jul 15, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Does each TA unit have permanent staff? What rank are they? What are the roles throughout the week/weekends?

2. Their main role is to ensure that the badminton equipment is used regularly.

Some of them have something to do with booking courses and arranging interesting training, but don't get your hopes up.
  3. Im a reg, just been told about the possibility of going to a TA Centre as an instructor, I have never heard of it, and I cannot see it being that active a posting, apart from weekends, and evenings.
  4. Some are not interested in the TA and see it as a cushy couple of years. Others put in a lot of effort to create interesting training and can make a difference. However don't be put off, if you plan the best Trg W/E ever only to find a handful of people turn up.

Good luck
  5. I know nothing of how they work in the TAC's so I would be guessing, but they operate like a training wing does at a Reg Unit?
    Booking courses and organising training?

6. Pretty much, have fun wherever you're going. Just bear in mind the TA is a very different kettle of fish. For starters they will question your instructions and demand justification for them!
  7. A good PSI is worth his weight in gold.

You’d be your TA unit’s link to the regular army and responsible for ensuring your units training was up to regular standards.
    To put that another way, you’d be responsible for ensuring your TA soldiers are good enough to serve alongside their regular counterparts on ops.
  8. Thanks, seems like its as good as I make it. How many Instructors are there on average?