TA Armourer

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Luton_Van, Jan 28, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi. First time poster on here. Decided recently to take the plunge and go for the TA. I specifically want to train as an armourer. I went to speak to my local REME TA and they said they had enough armourers at the moment so it was unlikely they could train me for a couple of years. Was offered Recy mech instead as I have been a class 1 driver for several years, or VM. I was told I could dual trade when a position for armourer came up. Not keen on that as I'm fed up with driving lorries but on the other hand I could live with it as the training means access to mucho money in civvy recovery jobs. But thats not the reason I want to join.
    Out of interest I went to see the Engineers too. I grew up on a farm and worked in construction before so heavy plant does not interest me now. I want something different.

Thats what made me consider the Infantry. I'm not unfit so can easily get up to standard. The whole learning of warcraft thing attracts me too. I was impressd with my local Inf place (RWR B Coy Swansea). The friendly young Officer I met said they will have lots of Javelin anti tank weapons I can play with when qualified. So far so good. I know the armourer role is a REME thing but when I told them I was keen to train as one, he went and asked the Captain who said it was a possibility that I could be trained 'in house'. It was unclear as to whether I would have a REME or Inf cap badge?