T.A on Op Herrick

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by welsh_lad14, Apr 28, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. What does the T.A do on Op herrick do they get involved like the regular soldier say for instance infantry, does the T.A soldier go out on patrols, assaults etc ... do exactly the same as his regular buddy ?
  2. "One Army", Taff.
  3. Depends on how hes deployed.

Some are used as individual replacementsand just slot into regular units and perform the same duties as the regulars.
    Some deploy as formed units and quite often are used as force protection at Camp Bastion. That said I'm fairly sure some of these formed units have gotten into serious contacts out on the ground.

That said I'm not TA, I'm not a Reg I'm a student so that could all be balls.
  4. spot on Rusty . It has in the past depended a little on whether you are an IA or deployed as a formed unit.
  5. As the above poster said.Depends on what unit is doing .Force protection has to be done .
  6. My lot 6th rifles have deployed twice as formed cmpys on herrick 5/9 doing force protection at bastion but it soon changed to doing convoy protection as well as doing all other force protection jobs at bastion on herrick 5, which there r alot, we also had to supply a number of lads on herrick 9 to 1 rifes to operate on the omlet teams as well as looking after bastion which is where sgt chris read was killed, again 2 rifles whanted as many lads from 6/7 to go as IR within the battlion there were alot that went the lads r doing everthing from rifleman to FSg to section commander, and again 3 rifles want as many again doing the same thing, if ure thinking of going i would go as IR with a reg battlion
  7. And the TA Fd Hospitals deploy as a unit to run the hospital at Bastion.
  8. Ahhh right i get you